Becky Says...

January 2005

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Jump-dog and Other Work - January 25

Office dog Zoe and I were both suffering a little from the weather changing, and when that's the case, I don't mind indulging her whims (at least up to a point). So when she wanted some extra attention and allowances today, I was happy to oblige.

She wanted to sleep a lot, but she also wanted to be into everything. So for much of the afternoon, she was plopped in the lobby, presumably sleeping and keeping watch on the comings and goings of her people at the same time.

Which meant I got to practice the game of jump-dog again. That one originated with Zoe's precedessor, Robbie. Robbie never minded people stepping across him. It took Zoe a while to get used to it, but if you're one of her regular people, she'll not bother to move just because you want to get from Point A to Point B. She trusts you to miss her body and her long golden hair. It helps that I have long legs and a well-developed habit of watching where I'm stepping.

Zoe spent some time in my office, too. When she came back from her afternoon walk, she came to see me to get the requisite treats. But she came back in after she had eaten, to show me her tennis ball. This one was bought for canine use, so it wasn't a surprise to me that she had it. But I was most pleased that she trusted me to see that she had it. She has to really trust someone to let them within touching distance of whatever toy she has with her.

In addition to my Zoe-duties, I did manage to do some more traditional law firm work. Things like writing cover letters and sending documents to clients, setting up files, and making sure new client matters were in the billing system. And I got through to the office supply people from yesterday's entry, and arranged the swapping of file sleeves. In case you wondered, this time I was only on hold for about a minute, and it was different music.

I was glad to get the other work done, but jump-dog was much more fun.

Text © copyright 2000-2005 Becky