Becky Says...

January 2005

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Ages and Changes - January 23

If I hadn't been archive-surfing this weekend, I might not have realized that Johnny Carson died on the first anniversary of the death of Captain Kangaroo. I think the coincidence is striking to me because both men's shows represent significant parts of my life.

Johnny Carson's "Tonight" became a must-watch for me on snowy nights when we knew there would not be school the next day, or on Fridays, when I was entering my junior high school years. There was something a little exotic about hearing some of the more risque jokes, and definitely something a little exotic about being up after my mother had gone to bed.

In later years, my mother's retirement allowed her inner owl to stay up, too, and it became a habit of ours to share time just past the monologue. We often were on the telephone at that hour, and if something had struck us particularly funny, we'd share a second laugh at a joke. We definitely had a conversation following the last show he did in 1992, though we let the whole show go by before the call.

Others have written today of Johnny Carson's career, and the things he did well. What he did best for me was show me part of the world that I hadn't had reason to see before. And I'm grateful for his presence as tour guide.

* * * * * * * * * * *

Entertainment for the afternoon here was courtesy of the little children from down the porch. They have several kid-powered vehicles, which they were riding up and down the porch. There was much joyful noise (and that's not a complaint) emanating from the riders, particularly from one tiny little girl in a warm pink coat.

She has apparently spent some time around puppies at some point, because she has the puppy squeal down perfectly. Only she uses it in happy time, rather than to protest anything. You can tell from the expression on her face as she squeals that there is utterly nothing wrong in the world.

Seeing and hearing the happy children made me wish I were a lot shorter and smaller. Just because I'd love to go ride with them!

Text © copyright 2000-2005 Becky