Becky Says...

January 2005

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Becky, Stated - January 18

I used to really wish I were more of a girl, with the attributes I thought meant female with a capital F.

But over time I realized I had some characteristics that made me stand apart from the hordes of girly girls, so it became all right that my voice was deep for a female, and that my fingers actually work better if my nails are fairly short.

It's cool that I can pretty much sing baritone and I have to work a little harder if I need to claw someone's eyes out.

Those nails? They, and their pedal counterparts, get polished. It makes me feel good.

And don't even waste your thoughts on having me give up my Youth Dew or my lipstick. Or the bit of eyeshadow I wear.

And don't expect me to act my age.

For the record, when I am old I plan to wear what the hell ever I please, which will probably not be purple. And if I wear a hat, it will be something very tasteful with a face veil, or something big and dramatic. Because those two are what the hell ever I please.

I also used to think I'd cut my long hair into short hair when I hit forty. Umm, no, I am now well past that and still love my long hair. Which I wear down most days. Because I please to do so.

Don't expect me to give up my own fondness for certain of my body parts, those mentioned and those none of your concern.

I do not plan to give up things that make me feel sexy, whether or not someone else is around to share the joy.

Nor do I plan to give up much of anything else not already gone from my life. There is too much missing now to ever contemplate giving up more.

Individual? Absolutely.

Text � copyright 2000-2005 Becky