Becky Says...

January 2005

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Valuing Becky - January 9

I spent a lot of my time Saturday doing something because I value myself. I cleaned out a box of things that had accumulated in my bedroom. And even though it was tiring, I'm delighted to have spent the time and effort doing this.

I suspect I gained a whole lot of upper-body strength hauling the debris to the dumpster. Fully eighty-five percent of the contents of the box no longer needed to live with me.

I know I gained a lot of space. I also had some smile time, looking again at some of the things I found in the box. But just because the things made me smile didn't mean they automatically got put in the save pile. That pile was reserved for personal mail, and crafts patterns, and a couple of commemorative issues of magazines.

I said I did this because I value myself. I have to remind myself sometimes that I alone am worth the effort I put into cleaning. It's not necessary to be planning for company to come in order to want to keep the place in good shape. I am worth my own time.

When I spend the time doing something good for myself like this, I come away from it tired, but fulfilled.

And that feeling of fulfillment is priceless.

Text � copyright 2000-2005 Becky