Becky Says...

December 2004

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






December 31

My last day of 2004 included a trip to the ATM to make a deposit. I sincerely hope no one robs that particular ATM over the weekend, or does anything that will cause the security people to look really closely at the videotape of the day's visitors. Because any viewers will catch a couple of shots of me that I would rather have not be seen.

No, I wasn't doing anything naughty. I was just trying to get another deposit envelope out of the stack, to replace the one I had just used. I try to keep a few on hand at home, to speed up transactions at the bank, and often grab a fresh one when I've made a deposit. This particular ATM is a drive-up one, which means I needed to use my left hand to try getting that envelope.

"Try" being the operative word. My left hand is the one in which I've been having tendonitis troubles. And the stack of envelopes was packed tightly into the container. Apparently the bank folk, expecting a massive number of depositors over the weekend, had stuffed the container with more than its allotted supply. The container itself fits loosely into a slot. As in, when you push against the container to get an envelope, the container itself goes back further into the ATM slot.

I couldn't dislodge an envelope with my left hand. So I took off my seatbelt and turned part of the way sideways in my seat, to use my right hand. I was making some very strained faces at the ATM as I was trying to wedge my fingers into the thing to get the damned envelope.

You see where this is going, don't you? I finally noticed the camera. And tried to control the contortions my face was going through, so the camera wouldn't have quite so many shots of me doing the squinched-face thing. But it was to no avail. The container was definitely in charge of the envelopes, and was definitely not going to let me have one.

I finally turned back to face the steering wheel of my car, and said, out loud, "It's no use. The envelopes are stuck." You know, just in case there was sound with that camera. And on that note, I put the car in gear and drove away.

Sometime in the next few weeks, I'll visit a branch of the bank with a walk-up ATM.


Holidailies

I am delighted to be participating again in Holidailies. In addition to those participating in the portal, there are writers who are doing "Holidailies at Home." A list of those participants, as well as other information about Holidailies, is available through the link.

Text © copyright 2000-2004 Becky