Becky Says...

December 2004

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






December 28

I had a chance tonight to talk with my friend who is in recovery about what that means to him. About what he gets from Alcoholics Anonymous.

We had started off talking about something tangentially related to the subject, then the opportunity arose for me to ask the question. I did my best to ask it in a way that he knew was a request for information about the strengths of a program, not ever to be heard as, "Why can't you do this alone?"

And I got an excellent, informative answer. All about support, and chances, and all the other good things the program has to offer. And one of those being support for the idea of personal responsibility, which is a huge deal for me and I'm glad to hear from a participant that the program encourages that.

My friend isn't a cheerleader. He is a grateful human being, who realizes he has a disease and a chance to deal with it.

I learned a lot. And the lessons landed down in my soul, where they'll stay.


Holidailies

I am delighted to be participating again in Holidailies. In addition to those participating in the portal, there are writers who are doing "Holidailies at Home." A list of those participants, as well as other information about Holidailies, is available through the link.

Text � copyright 2000-2004 Becky