Becky Says...

December 2004

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






December 25


Snowflakes drying

The snowflakes were hung from the stove hood with care...actually, about a week before Christmas. These are the 2004 snowflakes, drying after I had washed them. Two of them went to new homes, and the third is staying with me.

So far, this Christmas has been a very good one, even though it's fairly quiet. The family on both sides has been called, and all are doing well. There has also been a call back and forth with a dear friend, with today marking the first time we had heard each other's voices.

Thinking of the phone calls reminds me of another Christmas phone call, ten years ago now. My mother was in the nursing home, and I had plans to spend part of the day with her, as well as with the cousins, but as the morning started I was alone.

A friend knew that it would be the first time I woke up in Dallas without anyone else in the house. My friend, who was at his home in this part of the state, decided to keep me from being lonely. He accomplished that by calling early enough in the morning to awaken me.

I knew what his purpose was in calling so early, even before he said so. And I loved it. It took the sting of being alone completely away, and made me feel very special.

There is just something magical about hearing a loved one's friendly voice on Christmas. I'm glad to have had several chances to have that happen today.

I hope you've had some magic in your day, too.


Holidailies

I am delighted to be participating again in Holidailies. In addition to those participating in the portal, there are writers who are doing "Holidailies at Home." A list of those participants, as well as other information about Holidailies, is available through the link.

Text © copyright 2000-2004 Becky