Becky Says...

December 2004

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Revisiting the Keeping of Watch - December 22

Last year on this day I wrote of keeping watch, of how people were doing just that, in non-intrusive ways. Several times this year I've mentioned the notion again. It continues to be a source of profound joy to me, to both watch and be watched.

And I've been sitting here trying to figure out a way to write of that joy. The writing is infinitely difficult precisely because of the joy involved.

The watching and being watched themselves are the base of the joy. And the doing is purely informal. I have a group of people upon whom I keep an eye. Each of those people has his or her own group of people upon whom watchful eyes are cast.

Sometimes there is a great deal of overlap; sometimes not so much. Sometimes we know who is paying close attention at any given moment, and sometimes we do not.

It boils down to one profound, glorious thing: knowing that one matters.

In that is joy, for this season and for all others.


Holidailies

I am delighted to be participating again in Holidailies. In addition to those participating in the portal, there are writers who are doing "Holidailies at Home." A list of those participants, as well as other information about Holidailies, is available through the link.

Text © copyright 2000-2004 Becky