Becky Says...

December 2004

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






December 10

Zoe, the office Golden Retriever, was full of herself Thursday. When I arrived, she was pestering her human parents for shares of their lunches. Shortly thereafter, she decided I needed to share mine, too, only I wasn't eating yet. She settled for a fresh bowl of water from me. For a few minutes, at least.

When I finally decided it was indeed time for my lunch. Zoe came to join me. She had her usual dog treats, then tried staring at the treat bag to see if more were forthcoming. Nope, not even concentrated Retriever gazing made that bag spring open.

A little later in the afternoon, she was nosing around in the trashcan under the reception desk in the law firm lobby. This is definitely something she knows better than to do. I happened to be walking past, and told her to stop. Her human mom, Wendy, told me to tap Zoe, to get her attention. I did.

Not very hard, because the goal of said tap wasn't punishment, but to startle her into ceasing her exploration of the trash. And it worked. Zoe was indeed startled. She was also amazed that I would do such a thing even if I had been instructed to do it, and embarrassed.

Evilness that we are, we let her stay embarrassed for five or ten minutes while we took a cigarette break. When we came back in the office, we let her make up with us. It was really sweet how contrite she was, even to kissing my hand.

We took turns telling her she was a good girl, then we went on with our work. Zoe decided she'd had enough fun for one afternoon, so it became naptime for her. But the desired behavior stayed around post-nap.

She was a very good girl the rest of the day.

Holidailies

I am delighted to be participating again in Holidailies. In addition to those participating in the portal, there are writers who are doing "Holidailies at Home." A list of those participants, as well as other information about Holidailies, is available through the link.

Text © copyright 2000-2004 Becky