Becky Says...

September 2004

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






September 19

A year ago yesterday Hurricane Isabel changed a lot of lives. Mine wasn't among them, since the edge of the storm that hit this part of North Carolina wasn't strong enough to create much trouble. But there are many people in this state and other places still trying to put their lives back together.

And this weekend there are many lives changed by Hurricane Ivan. The mountains of North Carolina, particularly the southern mountains, were greatly affected by all the excess water and wind. There are nine people dead. And in ways that aren't totally clear to me, they are my people and I mourn their passing.

Some of it, I think, is the connection I feel toward the mountains. I didn't grow up there, but some of the happiest times of my life have been spent in the mountains. I am sorry there is so much sadness there now.

May those whose lives have been changed forever by this storm find, in the ensuing calm, great strength and much peace as they come to terms with their losses and deal with the changes.

And may the rest of the hurricane season pass without further loss of life.

Text © copyright 2000-2004 Becky