Becky Says...

September 2004

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






September 1

My feline nephew Wesley turned eighteen today. He is, of course, the oldest of Wendy's furbabies.

I've known Wesley a while. And I have a favorite Wesley story to tell.

Several years ago, Wendy and Rick were out of town for a few days, and I was cat-tending. I went out to their house several times to do so. One of the things that the humans asked me to do was make sure neither Wesley or Thumper got outside.

Came the last time I was to go out to tend. I walked in the front door, which I carefully shut behind me. Both cats were where I could see them when I was in the living room, so I knew neither had gotten out in the brief time the door was open.

I did my tending things, which means I put out food and fresh water and cleaned out the litter box, in case you don't know what cat tending involves. As was often the case, Thumper paid me careful attention while I was in the house. I think she wanted to be absolutely sure the food was properly served, along with wanting to be petted a little.

Wesley did his usual thing, which was to ignore me. He was tired of being the grownup in charge, and was glad to let me take over the Thumper-minding while I was there. He usually napped through my visits.

Came time for me to leave. Thumper was in plain sight, but I didn't see Wesley. I wasn't worried that he had gotten out, because I knew there weren't doors or windows open from which he could have exited. All the same, I wanted to see him with my own eyes, to be sure he was all right and that he was aware he was in full control again.

I didn't have to look hard. I saw the boy under the dining room table. He had been situated in a spot where the tablecloth hid him, but he came out, lifted one paw in salute to me, and I knew by the expression on his face what it was he wanted to say, had he only had the human language skills to do so.

The message he wanted to convey was, "Yeah, I know you knew I was inside. But I'm a cat. It's a rule that I have to try to play headgames with humans occasionally. Thanks for coming and tending to us; see you soon!"

Upon knowing that both the cats were safe, I said goodbye to them and came home. And apparently I passed the Wesley-test, because the next time I was in his presence, he decided it was fine to come sit in my lap.

Happy Birthday, Wesley!

Text © copyright 2000-2004 Becky