Becky Says...

August 2004

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






August 29

A thread at ThreeWay Action sent me to check my name at Googlism a couple of days ago. And one of the results I got for "Rebecca" blew my mind.

Some background: I have, over the course of my life, managed to make friends with a number of men named David. This David, of course, is one of them. I don't often see more than one of them at a time, but I have been known to create confusion when mentioning them unless I give some context.

But there was the one time when there were multiple Davids...

Around the time I left for college, I was asked by a music teacher I knew to help with a recital her students were presenting. It was held in my high school's auditorium, and there were quite a few students scheduled to either sing or play the piano. Although it wasn't a school function (in fact, it was during the summer break time), the band director was there, as a backstage helper, which was also my role.

The band director was a friend, and I was out of high school, so I was welcome to call him by his first name, David. We were spending some time in his office, which was backstage, with a few of the recital participants. The group in the room grew smaller over the course of the evening, since once the musicians performed they generally went out to sit in the audience.

Finally, there were only four people in the room. David the band director, me, and two other Davids. I made mention of being the only person in the room not named David, and the other three declared that would not do at all. So they made me an honorary David, and for the rest of the night they addressed me as such.

Googlism results are culled from websites that have been visited by the search bots from Google. Somewhere on a website is the phrase that blew my mind. It is, "Rebecca is indeed a David."

Apparently when these guys made me an honorary one, they meant it!

Text © copyright 2000-2004 Becky