Becky Says...

August 2004

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






August 25

This was a day in which many things got done. I like days where the busy isn't overwhelming, but rather is steady. These days, while pleasant to work through, don't always make for scintillating entries.

Since that's definitely the case today, I'm going to suggest that you take a tour through the archives, or check out the sites noted on the links page. I'll try to have something more to say in the not-too-distant future.

August 24

To make sure it wakes me up, the clock radio is across the room from me. I have to get up to make the noise go away. The distance means, though, that if I want to see what time it is and I don't have my glasses on, I wind up squinting just a bit, especially at the minutes (it's a digital clock).

Tonight was one of those times when I did some serious squinting at the clock. I was really tired when I got home from work, and really sleepy. I decided a nap was in order, and I did just that. But I woke up every so often and looked at the clock. mainly to see if I had slept long enough. If the answer to the question was negative, I turned over and went back to sleep. Finally, I decided the answer was positive, and got up.

Among other things I did at work this afternoon was fix the printer after it decided to get a label stuck in itself. I had heard the label get caught as the sheet of them was going through, and I knew if I could see it I could probably dislodge it before it was wound around something to the extent that a repair call was necessary.

I could indeed see the stuck label, and with the tip of my pocket knife blade I could get the edge of it loose. It was in a position where grasping it and pulling would dislodge it easily enough. But I needed something smaller than my fingers to do the job. I knew we had regular pliers, which would also be larger than the available space. What I was after was a pair of tweezers or a pair of needle-nosed pliers.

I happened to remember that one of the attorneys had a Swiss Army knife that had a lot of extra gadgets. Sure enough, it had a small pair of pliers that, while they weren't needle-nosed, were small enough to fit the space but long enough to grasp the label. Going slowly, so that I would not tear the label and make things worse, I pulled the label out of the printer.

That done, I put the Swiss Army knife back in its case and returned it to the attorney. I then went on with the work I was trying to finish before the end of the day. Which, in case you're curious, did not include printing any more labels.

Text © copyright 2000-2004 Becky