Becky Says...

August 2004

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






August 19

We were running low on paperclips at the office, and I wanted to place an online order for them. Before I placed the order I checked to find out what else we needed from the office supply store. I was making my list and placing the order after the close of the regular business day, and that made me think once again how convenient the Internet is for such things.

One thing I really love about the Internet is its all-hours availability. I don't worry so much about things like the online office supply orders since I know if push comes to shove I can bring the list of things needed home and order at midnight if that works better for me. And the same is true of other online pursuits.

I love being able to catch up on journals or posts to message boards in the middle of the night. I love being able to read and respond to e-mail after I've had a nap. I love being able to find out things without having to go anywhere or bother anyone else---information about postal codes comes to mind on that one.

There are, however, some things I won't do online in the late night, because I don't care to answer questions about why I'm up late. There's a message board to which I will not post late at night, for example. And there are people whose e-mail will not get a late-night response. As I've said before, unless you're sleeping with me what time I go to bed is none of your business. But it's easier to say that here, as a general statement to a whole lot of people named, "you," than it is to say it to an individual. So it's just better not to set myself up for the question.

But the office supply store really doesn't care what time I place orders. They are happy to have me clicking the submit button to buy things anytime. And me, I'm glad I can order when it suits me. Umm, which is before we run out of paperclips.

Text � copyright 2000-2004 Becky