Becky Says...

August 2004

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






August 17

The damsel is no longer in distress. I got some good ideas from the car-savvy among you readers, and I appreciate the concern as much as I appreciate the suggestions.

I made arrangements to be off work today, so I could set things in motion about having Katie the car repaired. I called AAA, and the nice man who came out to deal with it was able to get the hood open. It seems the secret was to hit the exact spot on the passenger's side corner of the hood. When he did that, the hood popped open as though it were planning to do so all along.

I had thought the hood latch's cable was broken, but it turns out the cable is just fine where it needs to be, at the latch point. Patting my own back, I remembered to ask if there was a way to rig things so future openings wouldn't be a problem; the answer to that one is a coat hanger to pull the latch cable. Perhaps a bit inelegant, but once I have the car back I can work on that.

Anyway, the problem with the car was not the battery. She needs a new starter. I can't complain. Katie (short for Kathryn, by the way) has not needed a starter replaced before now, and her seventeenth birthday is next month. I wasn't kidding when I said she had been my faithful companion. (And please note that entry about her needing an alternator is from nearly three years ago.)

The AAA man towed the car to my usual garage, and they will do the work tomorrow. I am very much relieved. And after the work is finished, Katie will be, too.

After I got back from the garage, I spent some time writing to those who had sent suggestions about the car. This was another time to thank my blessings for helping me with my challenges.

Text © copyright 2000-2004 Becky