Becky Says...

August 2004

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






August 10

This day was hard. I was having a really bad time with my back, and had a challenging little piece of work to accomplish that required too much standing. I was in a mood to whine, so I told my coworkers that if anyone called and needed whining at, they should transfer the call to me.

Dammit, no such calls came in. So I just had to come home and take a nap. Naps solve a lot of problems, and this one did help my back some. And you're in luck; I'm not in a whiny mood. But I'm still tired, so this will not be a long entry.

* * * * * * * * * * *

Someone who rarely visits this site anymore came to visit today, according to my stats. In case he comes to visit again, I'll take this opportunity to say hello, and suggest a read-through of all the entries from earlier this month. Yes, that's a vague comment.

August 9

To answer the question several people have asked me, no, there were no argumentative people on the bus today. It was a pleasant ride, and the only conversation I happened to hear involved the location of a golf course in another state.

The only problem with taking the bus to work, which I've been doing the last several days, is that the trip from home to the office takes just under an hour. That includes a transfer and a ride around the eastern edge of the county. At least the scenery is pleasant.

The trip from the office back to my apartment complex doesn't take so long; the inbound bus has already made the tour of the eastern streets by the time it gets to me.

And it's been fun to spend some time window shopping in downtown Chapel Hill, between buses. The main business district is changing again, but never fear: there are still many restaurants.

Also in abundance are places at which Carolina souveniers may be purchased. There is one store with a huge display of Tar Heel earrings. I don't think there are that many earring-wearing people in North Carolina, much less in Chapel Hill, but I'm probably wrong about that. At any rate, all those pairs of just-alike earrings boggle my mind.

And considering I've lived around here a long time, and gotten used to seeing large quantities of UNC-themed merchandise, that's saying quite a bit.

Text © copyright 2000-2004 Becky