Becky Says...

August 2004

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






August 9

To answer the question several people have asked me, no, there were no argumentative people on the bus today. It was a pleasant ride, and the only conversation I happened to hear involved the location of a golf course in another state.

The only problem with taking the bus to work, which I've been doing the last several days, is that the trip from home to the office takes just under an hour. That includes a transfer and a ride around the eastern edge of the county. At least the scenery is pleasant.

The trip from the office back to my apartment complex doesn't take so long; the inbound bus has already made the tour of the eastern streets by the time it gets to me.

And it's been fun to spend some time window shopping in downtown Chapel Hill, between buses. The main business district is changing again, but never fear: there are still many restaurants.

Also in abundance are places at which Carolina souveniers may be purchased. There is one store with a huge display of Tar Heel earrings. I don't think there are that many earring-wearing people in North Carolina, much less in Chapel Hill, but I'm probably wrong about that. At any rate, all those pairs of just-alike earrings boggle my mind.

And considering I've lived around here a long time, and gotten used to seeing large quantities of UNC-themed merchandise, that's saying quite a bit.

August 8

I have been doing some serious, serious thinking this weekend.

It's the sort of thinking that takes you to the depths of your soul, makes you remember things you never ever wanted to remember, includes anger, and leaves you with a much clearer understanding of yourself.

It was painful, even if it was necessary.

This was all a byproduct of last week's having been a difficult one for me. The difficult parts included a heavy-duty episode of depression, which eased a bit after the serious thinking.

I am lucky in that my companion on the journey has much insight into the subject of depression, and helped me put the episode into perspective.

I am lucky in that other friends have insight into other aspects of the difficult week, and shared those thoughts with me.

I am lucky. I am most grateful that this journey is not a solitary trek, and that others join it at various stages.

The journey continues.

Text © copyright 2000-2004 Becky