Becky Says...

August 2004

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






August 3

This day has had its share of oddities, including a car that doesn't seem to want to start and a back that does seem to want to ache. And a dead bug in a thermostat and a request for business services through the Rebeccaworks site that left me scratching my head.

The first two things noted above aren't amusing. I'm still not sure what the deal is with the car, but it will be dealt with. The backache will probably go away with the remnants of Hurricane Alex. But both the dead bug's location and the business request amused me.

The thermostat for my apartment is on the wall in the hallway, where there isn't a separate light. That's my defense for not noticing that a fly had gotten trapped in the space between the dial and the numbers until after his demise. In case you're wondering how he got there, I know the answer---there's a space in the center of the thermostat dial where the plate with the numbers on it is notched. The fly got nosy. He found out what was on the other side of the notch. I hope it was worth his life to him. The corpse has been removed from that location.

And the business request. I've mentioned several times that I've had odd requests for crafts items, including some I don't begin to know how to do (which would be why I don't offer to sell them). But today's request was a new one on me. The man who wrote wanted a price quote for a volume discount on proofreading, editing, and writing. And samples of my work in each, please.

I'm not totally sure how you send someone a sample of your proofreading, but if I had been of a mind to do so I could have told him what the mistakes were on the index page of his website. I didn't go looking there to proofread, by the way; I went to see if it were a real request before answering.

As for editing, any of that I do is not something I would share with a stranger. Especially since that isn't a service named on the business services page.

And I'm pretty sure he really wanted someone to write ad copy, based on looking at his site. That would need to be someone else.

So I wrote back, thanking him for his request, telling him that I don't do volume discounts, and suggesting that if he wanted to know more about my writing he was welcome to read the Rebeccaworks site.

I left out the part about how he should have read the whole business services page before wasting his time writing to me. After all, he was the major source of amusement for the day.

Text � copyright 2000-2004 Becky