Becky Says...

July 2004

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






July 25

As I write, I'm working on a project for a friend. I'm able to do both at the same time because the project includes downloading a ginormous amount of stuff, and that's the part going on right now. I think I may be downloading for a while.

I've been working on aspects of this for several days now. I'm enjoying being involved with this particular project for a lot of reasons, one of which is that I'm getting to learn some new things. That's always a bonus.

Other than that, some of my weekend was taken up with a personal project that was not so much fun, but had to be done. And household chores took some moments, too. Then there was shopping. Today's venture into the land of retail wasn't so bad. The stores had what I needed, at reasonable prices, and I got to chat a moment with one of my favorite clerks.

In response to being asked how her day had gone, she said it had been okay, but she did wonder if several of the people who had come into the store had started their day by drinking a glass of stupid juice, since they were just plain acting stupid. I had seen several of them in action as I shopped. I knew what she meant.

I also spent some time today on the phone with another friend. It's rare that I do that anymore; I usually am in touch with my friends by e-mail---even the local ones. The call today was a pleasant reminder of how nice it can be to hear a familiar voice.

So. A weekend filled with difference and sameness. A slice of life.

July 22

I've just spent fifteen minutes or so writing a note to someone; a note I probably will not send because it is written in very much anger, with some hurt feelings on the side.

But it has done me a world of good to write it out. The anger has been festering in my brain, and needed to go somewhere else.

I do that sometimes---write things out that I've been chewing on. Sometimes once I read it, I realize that I've not been fair to the other side of the question. Sometimes I realize I'm missing information, and that if I just sit back and let life happen I'll know soon whether or not I need to be angry.

And if indeed I do need to be angry, I can then try to focus the anger where it needs to go, instead of blasting at the whole world.

Works for me. Also works for the world.

Text © copyright 2000-2004 Becky