Becky Says...

July 2004

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






July 6

Today was a day of getting back to business. It felt like Wednesday, for some reason, moreso than it felt like Monday. I think it was because the weather was hot enough that people were moving a little more slowly and taking more than the usual amount of care not to make anyone else go to much trouble. At least that's how it struck me. It may have been vastly different for others.

As to the announcement from Senator Kerry regarding Senator Edwards, yes, I'm pleased. I don't have any idea how or if the selection will make a difference in November, since political prognostication is pretty far outside my sphere. But it has made the local news here a lot more interesting for the day.

Of course, it's probably a bit less important in the immediate Triangle area than the news on Monday that Duke's Mike Krzyzewski will not be accepting the job offer from the Los Angeles Lakers. We do have our priorities, after all.

July 5

At what point is someone going to say it? "I'm sorry. We should never have been there in the first place, it was a really bad idea, and we are taking steps to assure no more lives will be lost."

Yes, I'm ranting a little about Iraq. If you think we should be there, go away. You'll hate the rest of this entry.

What has set me off? A news report. A thirteen year old boy was the subject of the report. Three weeks ago, his father was killed in Iraq. Tonight, the young man wanted to say out loud that it's really hard to lose someone you love and with whom you were close. That it's really, really hard. It doesn't matter why or how the loved one died. It's really, really, really hard.

And I don't want to ever have to see another report like that. Not another report on a child whose parent will never come back because someone thought it was a smart idea to invade Iraq and force changes there.

What I do want, and damned soon, is for someone to say, to that young man who is having to grow up altogether too soon, and to the rest of the world: "I'm sorry. We should never have been there in the first place, it was a really bad idea, and we are taking steps to assure no more lives will be lost."

* * * * * * * * * * *

This is a repeat segment from my July 1 entry, in case you missed that one. It's a subject that's important to me.

Someone made a comment the other day about going off antidepressants that got me started thinking. Yes, it's lovely when someone no longer needs the medication, and is able to taper off of it.

But it's important to remember that the real goal in taking them in the first place isn't to see how fast or even whether one can get off of them. It's to get one's life back.

This from one who came to them late, but who deeply appreciates their value in my life.

Text © copyright 2000-2004 Becky