Becky Says...

July 2004

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






July 1

Zoe the office Golden Retriever does some of her best work when she's greeting people. Today, another attorney came to the office to see one of ours. Zoe was in the lobby when the visiting attorney arrived, and while I went to get ours, she had fun with the visitor.

As it happens, the visitor is another human who's under the spell of the Goldens. He and Zoe have been buddies for a while, so I wasn't at all surprised that they were enjoying each other's company. I was a little surprised to see Zoe on her back, having her tummy rubbed. This isn't one of her normal postures.

At any rate, when I got back to the lobby, I looked at the two of them and said, "You have your buddy to play with." Then I realized I wasn't sure at all to which of them the comment had been addressed. That was okay. It was appropriate for either of them.

* * * * * * * * * * *

Someone made a comment the other day about going off antidepressants that got me started thinking. Yes, it's lovely when someone no longer needs the medication, and is able to taper off of it.

But it's important to remember that the real goal in taking them in the first place isn't to see how fast or even whether one can get off of them. It's to get one's life back.

This from one who came to them late, but who deeply appreciates their value in my life.

Text © copyright 2000-2004 Becky