Becky Says...

May 2004

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






May 19

In North Carolina it's the time of year to renew (and pay for) Privilege Licenses, those which certain professionals are required to have for, you guessed it, the privilege of working at their professions in this state. In today's mail came the batch of renewal forms for our attorneys.

And one we shouldn't have had, for the former associate who left in September 2002. By accident, I opened hers along with the rest of them. As soon as I realized what I had done, I addressed an envelope to her, and put a note in with the mis-opened mail, to apologize and to tell her what I just told you.

I laughed about it with the other people in the office, that since former associate already thinks I'm incompetent, this won't hurt my reputation. Oh wait: what she said was that I didn't do anything at the law firm. At least she got reminded that I open the mail!

Umm, since she's been gone for almost two years, one could ask why it is that she hasn't bothered to correct her address with the Department of Revenue.

May 18

Yesterday there was a dilemma for Zoe, the office dog. One of her favorite clients (also a favorite of mine) showed up, just as I was getting ready to eat lunch. Once the client and I had exchanged greetings, I left for my office. What was the Golden to do?

She played with the client for a couple of minutes, then came to my office. I told her that I knew clientname was there, so Zoe could have her treats a little more rapidly than usual. When she had eaten them, I patted her head and told her to go back to the lobby and visit her buddy.

Zoe left me, heading to the lobby. Before I knew it, she was back in my office. I could tell she really wanted to make sure it was all right with me if she went to play instead of waiting for me to finish my lunch (which is when she usually leaves). The only way I knew to prove it to her was to get up and go to the lobby myself.

The client was still there, of course, and as soon as I said something to the effect that Zoe needed permission to leave lunch early, the client nodded her head. She is a wise woman, and understands the ways of the dog.

At that point, they resumed their visit, and I went back to finish my lunch.

Text © copyright 2000-2004 Becky