Becky Says...

May 2004

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






May 16

I went shopping this afternoon, which isn't unusual for me on a Sunday afternoon. There are usually fewer people in the stores. That was the case today. My shopping didn't take too long, even though there were several people who were doing the shopping cart equivalent of Sunday driving.

After the trip I was thinking about my shopping habits, especially that I rarely take very long when grocery shopping. That thought led me to tell Doug a bit of a story from years ago, when answering a note from him about bad backs. I told Doug that I can handle most shopping, since it usually doesn't involve too much standing still.

But there was the one time I was sorely tempted to leave Prince Charming to get a ride back to my place on his own. He had gone with me to get groceries, and I swear if I hadn't known better, I would have thought he had never been in a grocery store before. He wanted to look at everything. I was happy to let him, since I was perfectly content to take the cart and go get what I wanted. But then it was time to check out. I had to find him, then had to stand around while he examined snack food packages.

Now I'm a label-reader, too, so up to a point I was willing to think this was a fine thing for him to be wanting to do. But when he stood and read all the fine print on the ten-ounce package of cheese wafers, then picked up the sixteen-ounce package of the same wafers and wanted to read all the ingredients again, I had to remember that we were in public and I probably shouldn't make a scene, no matter that I was tired. I did catch him before he could pick up another package, and gently told him we needed to get started fixing dinner.

To this day, I'm not sure why he wanted to read both packages. I decided it was probably better to leave that question unasked.

Text © copyright 2000-2004 Becky