Becky Says...

May 2004

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






May 13

Tonight, I turned down a crochet request that probably could have made me a nice chunk of change. The request was to make a "lovey," in this case a square for a baby to cuddle with, to replace the burp cloth to which the baby has become attached.

The baby likes to put the cloth over her face, and that scares the mother. The mother asked for something with large enough holes in it that the baby could breathe through it if need be.

While that made sense, what I was afraid would happen was that the baby would somehow manage to get herself tangled in the square and either strangle herself or choke trying to swallow it. So I did three things---I told the mother my concerns, applauded hers, and turned down the request.

While doing so, I admitted that I might perhaps be being overcautious. But this struck me as being an excellent time to err on the side of caution.

Text © copyright 2000-2004 Becky