Becky Says...

May 2004

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






May 2

Catching up on an entry from last week:

This afternoon I got in touch with the woman who wanted to finish her late mother-in-law's afghan. I told her that I thought the best thing she could do would be to take the already-finished work to someone who both crochets and is local to her (I'm not; I'm half a continent away), and see if the local person could either identify the stitch used as an accent or "reverse-engineer" it.

I have not been able to tell what stitch it is, and knew from first looking at the pictures that the pattern wasn't one I had seen in any of the various pattern collections I have. The woman wrote back to thank me for my time and to agree with the notion of taking it to someone local.

My own crochet project continues to go well. I've already reached the point at which I can mentally see the finished item. Now I'm enjoying making that mental picture into a physical shape.

To bring this entry to a full circle with that one, I'll tell you that's the news on a rainy Sunday night.

May 1

Saturday in Beckyland.

One of the things I had to deal with today was spam, in massive quantities. Apparently a spammer's finger got stuck on "send," and 618 messages came at once. No, I'm not kidding. Six hundred and eighteen.

As it happens, I was paying attention as the mail downloaded, and managed to stop it at a point when only 27 of the messages had arrived. I did have to go delete the rest of it off the server, but at least I didn't have to deal with it locally.

A little later, I managed to get out to run errands in between rainstorms. It was raining fairly heavily during part of the time I was in the stores, but it had slacked off a good bit by the time I was ready to come home. So I got here only slightly soggy.

The rest of the day I managed to stay indoors, doing things that needed doing, either for practical reasons or to nourish my soul.

Text © copyright 2000-2004 Becky