Becky Says...

April 2004

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






April 7

Random things tonight.

I have had a busy week already, and it's only half over. We are heading into the home stretch of tax season, and our law firm does a lot of tax returns. I make the photocopies of a lot of those tax returns, and check to make sure all the attachments are attached in the correct order, etc., as part of the assembling process. That's the extremely condensed version of why I'm tired.

I have noticed that a lot of the new anti-spam measures are causing glitches in getting e-mail sent and received. I realize that the intention is good, and that glitches happen, but I gotta tell you, I find the glitches more annoying than spam---and you know I hate spam.

Speaking of spam, there was one amusing one today---the subject line offered me close-out tranquilizers. I wonder if the spammer is going out of business, or if the spammer found a stash of the drug (which I won't name, but it starts with a V) which is about to reach its expiration date. Either way, it struck me funny. Not so much that I read the message, you understand.

April 6

Zoe, age ten plus two days

Hi readers, I'm Zoe. I'm doing a guest entry tonight because I made Aunt Becky promise I could have my say after she flashed that dratted camera at me this afternoon. Yeah, that's a picture of me from today, because I had my tenth birthday on Sunday and Aunt Becky has this rule about taking pictures of me having a birthday. Since she's fairly easy for me to manipulate otherwise, I let her get away with a few quirks.

Also, I don't want to make her too mad, because she has opposable thumbs and occasionally they're handy. Like when I want lunch. Lunch, by the way, is what I was staring at in the picture. Aunt Becky said I was through eating, but there was plenty of food left in that bag. Oh, sorry, you can't see the bag; it's on the other side of her desk from where I'm standing.

Yesterday, I came over to Aunt Becky's office kinda late in the afternoon to get some attention, and to let it be known that my water bowl was empty...after all, she was hired to be the Handmaiden to the Golden. Aunt Becky said I should have won an award for my acting talents for the performance I put on. In fact, I know she wrote the following note to a friend last night:

"Zoe turned ten on Sunday. She turned into a drama queen this afternoon, when she needed her water bowl refilled...she came to my office and did a cough-gag-cough routine that would have worked well as the death scene in Camille. When I was sure she wasn't in trouble, I went to check the water bowl. I am well trained."

And you know something, now that I think about it, she's right about being well trained. She knows when I'm in the room and nudge her that I need to be petted. She knows that I get food not only when she has lunch but also after I've been out to walk in the afternoon. And she's usually pretty good about the water bowl fill-ups, too.

I think she loves me.

Text and photograph © copyright 2000-2004 Becky