Becky Says...

March 2004

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






March 24

The Bradford Pear trees over at the office complex are doing the blooming thing. One of the neatest things about these trees is that they don't give much warning they're about to bloom. You go home from work on a Friday, and when you come back on Monday, they're in full bloom! It's as though someone came in over the weekend and glued the pretty little blossoms onto the otherwise sparse tree branches.

I know that some people don't like Bradford Pear trees. I, however, happen to think they're fine things to have in the world. The blossoms announce spring in an unmistakable way.

I'm lucky enough to be able to see those trees from my office window. That pleases me.

Bradford Pears in bloom

There are certain perks associated with my job that are truly priceless. Those Bradford Pear trees are one such perk.

March 23

David's adventure in Daly City scared the hell out of me, and all I did was read it. I'm very glad David got out of harm's way. And I will say I'm glad no one had a gun.

I don't much care for guns. This has nothing to do with politics or hunting or anything except that I don't want to be around guns. One of the few times in my own life I've ever felt that I was in physical danger involved a gun, a Chapel Hill police officer, and a mutual acquaintance.

The officer was eating lunch several seats down from me at the lunch counter. The acquaintance came up to him and started some combination of flirting and teasing and picking at him. It was sorta fun to watch, until she got the bright idea to try to snatch his gun from the holster.

And she didn't stop trying until he had told her twice and basically swatted her hand off the gun. I shudder to think what would have happened if anything had gone wrong---a safety not on, a trigger pulled, a fill-in-the-blank. Not that her having been that close to the gun wasn't wrong, of course.

I don't think she had even given a thought to the potential danger. It was all part of the game to her.

A game I'm glad to say nobody lost.

March 22

A news report tonight dealt with a warning that the U.S. Food and Drug Administration is asking manufacturers of many antidepressant drugs to make available. The warning has to do with the possibility of worsening depression and suicidality, especially when medication is being started or when dosages are changed.

To put this bluntly, it's a warning about potential chemical fuckups.

Since I happen to know that many of the regular readers of this site are on antidepressants (they've told me), and others or their loved ones may be, as well, I am sharing the link. I'm asking all of you to take the time to follow it and read the information. It could save someone's life.

And no, I'm not being dramatic.

Text and photograph © copyright 2000-2004 Becky