Becky Says...

February 2004

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






February 18

If you were to assume things were getting back to normal here, you'd be correct. Proof of that for me was the noise of leaf-blower action taking place this morning somewhere outside my window. I think the lawn crew may have been blowing pine straw strands around in puddles of melted snow. Otherwise, I can't think why on earth they were here.

It was a lovely, warm day, and the sunshine was most welcome. Being back at work was good. I managed to get through a lot of the reams of paper the paper fairy dumped on my desk before it was time to leave.

After work, I sent e-mail to a couple of friends, and realized once again that I am ever so much more likely to communicate that way these days than I am to use postal mail or the telephone. I do need to get a few notes written to people who don't have computer access or the desire for it, but those will probably wait till this weekend.

All in all, it was a quiet, busy, good day. I'm hoping for similar ones for the rest of the week.

February 17

Okay, this day has been just shy of eerie. My only evidence that any of my neighbors were in existence was the upstairs guy walking across the bedroom floor a couple of times. Otherwise, this whole complex, or at least the part of it closest to me, has been very quiet and very still.

I haven't heard traffic in the parking lot. We've had snow, but there are usually a few people out driving after the melting starts, which it has. I haven't heard the neighbors' children playing. I haven't, when doing the occasional glance out the window, seen people walking on the sidewalks.

I'm thinking everyone here is staying in, because the high for the day was the freezing point and we've already had better snows to play in this winter. Maybe I'm not the only person whose idea of a real treat is what's forecast for later in the week: sun and really warm temperatures.

I doubt all the rest of the neighbors suddenly got lucky and moved to a warmer climate. If they did, they were terribly quiet about it, and they all left their cars. The lot is full, and most of the cars are still wearing snow.

I didn't go out, either. I read, and watched television, and procrastinated about doing some housework. Tomorrow, the outside world will sing its siren song, and I'll venture out.

I hope when I do I find other signs of life in the complex.

Text © copyright 2000-2004 Becky