Becky Says...

February 2004

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






February 1

Last Sunday and Monday's frozen precipitation is still with us. I knew there were patches of it, but I hadn't realized something: the melting has only happened on my side of the apartment complex, which faces west. There is still nearly the same quantity of ice and snow on the yards and sidewalks that get the morning sun as there was last Monday. Damn, that stuff is laying long.

I didn't really pay attention to this until today. Any other time I've been outside this weekend I've been heading to the car, then paying too much attention to traffic to get more than a glimpse of the buildings and grounds across the parking lot from me. But this afternoon, I walked down to the rental office to drop off my rent payment, and was totally unprepared to see that much ice still present.

We have the potential for more icy stuff tomorrow night. From what I hear, there isn't supposed to be much. But there are predictions of rain for several days this week, just so we won't forget how umbrellas work, I think.

I don't know exactly how accurate the weather predictions are, but I can tell you with great certainty that something is changing in the great outdoors. One of the things about my bad back is that it notes weather changes. If there has been rain for several days, but the rain is going to stop, my back will start to hurt. If it has been dry for several days, but precipitation is coming, my back will start to hurt. And so forth and so on.

Usually, it's what I call the baseline ache, that I don't talk much about for the same reason I don't feel compelled to tell you in every entry that I have long brown hair. But tonight, it is doing its unrelenting thing, and I'm not pleased. I have been nice to my back this weekend. I didn't ask it to carry too much, nor did I make it stand still for a long time. So I expect it to be more polite and quieten down when I've given it its medicine. Tonight, it's being stubborn, like a toddler having a tantrum.

I think I need to learn non-surgical ways of giving it a time-out.

Text © copyright 2000-2004 Becky