Becky Says...

December 2003

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






December 10

I had a phone call at work just as the business day ended yesterday, from a person trying to reach our former Associate 2, who has gone into a solo practice. The caller announced that she was an old friend, and asked if I had the former associate's home phone number in addition to her new office number.

As a rule, I don't lie if asked a direct question like that, so I said that I did have it but was not at liberty to give it out.

The caller turned herself into a complete twit at that point. She reiterated that she was a friend, and asked if I would give it to her if she gave me her own Social Security Number.

I still said no. But I was amused to think that she would be stupid enough to offer that particular piece of information to a stranger, even to one who worked at a law firm. Oh, by the way, she never did tell me her name.

As luck would have it, while I had the caller on hold so I could look up the new office number for her, one of the attorneys picked up the call and, upon hearing what the caller wanted, suggested that the caller call back during regular business hours. She apparently neglected to say she had been put on hold.

See, I told you she was a twit!


Holidailies

I am participating this year in Holidailies, a group of writers who promise to try very, very hard to update daily all month. I am familiar with the work of quite a few of the writers, and am enjoying becoming familiar with others.

Text © copyright 2000-2003 Becky