Becky Says...

December 2003

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






December 5

Today had all the potential for being a Friday from hell. It was cold and damp, and I was achy. I knew I had several things to finish at work, and I hoped that once I was through with them the rest of the worktime would be fairly quiet.

This day has turned out so very much better than I had hoped. My work went well, and there was time toward the end of the workday for a special treat for word-loving, good-writing-loving me.

A bit of background: in the practice of law, there is a great deal of respect accorded to well-crafted "fuck you" letters. They are so named because that's the basic point being conveyed. Today, our Senior Partner, Rick, wrote one of the finest "fuck you" letters I have ever had the privilege to hear read. I have told you before that I think he's a fine writer. This time, the man outdid himself.

He was, of course, acting on behalf of a client, and I certainly cannot tell you the details of the letter. But he used all the right words, including my beloved, "egregious," in all the right ways, to let the opposing counsel (to whom he was writing) know that fools were not being suffered this year, at least not by our law firm.

Interestingly, not one time was the word, "fool," used. But to miss the point of this letter, one would have had to be a bigger fool than I suspect the opposing counsel happens to be.

Wendy and I were both listening to Rick's reading (yes, she's his wife), and were enjoying it immensely. We could also tell that Rick was enjoying going through the letter again, after having spent two hours or so in its construction.

When he finished, I told him how much I had enjoyed getting to hear that wonderfully crafted letter. We three discussed it just a bit more, then I looked at Wendy and asked her if we had fireproof envelopes to use for the mailing.

It's a real shame he can't post the letter as a guest entry, but by the time he could edit it to remove anything confidential, all you'd be left with is "Dear" and "Sincerely." You'll just have to take my word for it. That was a righteous letter.


Holidailies

I am participating this year in Holidailies, a group of writers who promise to try very, very hard to update daily all month. I am familiar with the work of quite a few of the writers, and am enjoying becoming familiar with others.

Text � copyright 2000-2003 Becky