Becky Says...

November 2003

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






November 10

At least once a year the law firm and its neighboring businesses in the office complex get a visit from the art print peddlers. They travel in pairs, usually, and aren't the same people from one year to the next. I believe they're working for the same company, though, since the merchandise is the same each time.

This year's crew stopped by the law firm today. They first encountered Kathy in the lobby. When she wasn't interested in buying a print, they asked if anyone else was in the office. Kathy got on the intercom and asked me if I were interested in buying any art prints. I said, "No, thanks," since I'm not. Whereupon the peddlers told her she had done it wrong; she should have asked me if I wanted to buy Monet or Van Gogh prints in frames.

Kathy sent them on their way. Meanwhile, unbeknownst to us, Senior Partner had not locked the back door when he and Wendy left for lunch. So the part of the office area where my office is located got the next visit from the peddlers. Never mind there's a sign telling people to use the other door.

When the peddlers got to the back entrance, they first encountered the newest Associate, who told them they had the wrong door. Then they were at the mercy of office dog Zoe and me---we had come out of our respective rooms and met in the hallway near the entrance. And Zoe played her part in what happened next to absolute perfection.

If you're familiar with Golden Retrievers, you probably know they're protective of their people. And Zoe considers me one of her people. So she let me grab her collar, and was happy to stand still as long as she was between me and the peddlers. She was on alert, and looked as menacing as possible. mainly because I didn't tell her it was all right.

In fact, she didn't take her eyes off the two. The one closer to me tried to shake hands with me, but I wouldn't take my hand off the dog. I got busy telling him they had already visited our office through the correct door, and that we weren't interested in buying prints. I then told them not to use the wrong door again, and sent them on their way.

I think the two peddlers were more relieved to get away from a dog that had to be held back with both my hands than they were upset at not making a sale.

Needless to say, Zoe got much praise for her part in the encounter. She went back to her nap, knowing she had definitely earned her treats for the day.

* * * * * * * * * * *

Don't forget I'd like some help celebrating my birthday, please. Details are here.

Text © copyright 2000-2003 Becky