Becky Says...

September 2003

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






September 12

I will miss Johnny Cash. He had one of those wonderful voices---the kind without rough edges. And that was true of both his singing voice and his speaking one.

And I will miss John Ritter. In his public appearances, he seemed to truly have fun with life.

May they both rest in peace.

* * * * * * * * * * *

There's a saying around here, "Who licked the red off your candy?" which means, "Who took the pleasure away from you?" I thought about that one this evening, when I was recalling someone recently licking all the red off my candy. In my case, the candy-licker made what was supposed to be a joke, about something I had accomplished.

It hurt my feelings terribly. I was excruciatingly polite about it, but I was seething at the rudeness and stupidity of the remark, and was appalled that the maker thought I would find it amusing.

I'm the first to admit that I don't take a lot of kidding very well. That's especially the case where the kidding is the kind that puts me down (as this remark did). And I don't find such attempts at humor particularly amusing when I'm merely the audience. I think there's a fine line between that sort of kidding and picking on someone, and the line is all too often crossed.

When I hear or am the target of one of those not-so-amusing remarks, I tend to think of the maker of it as being a bully. I hated being around bullies when I was in grade school. It does not surprise me that I still do.

Text � copyright 2000-2003 Becky