Becky Says...

August 2003

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






August 31

One of my favorite memories from childhood is a scent memory. It's of loose face powder. My mother wore it, and applied it as she was getting dressed every day. I remember well being in her room and watching her dress, and waiting for the moment she'd take the top off the powder box, releasing the scent.

That scent lingered, gently, after she was through. It was a scent that I found very pleasant. I still do.

It's what safe smells like to me. And happy. And loved the way your mama oughta love you, and cherished as a little child should be. It's what good smells like.

Usually, while she was dressing, we would be talking. Not necessarily about the upcoming day, or about anything serious. It was a calm, peaceful way to begin the day.

One of the things I had occasion to talk with Mother about during the last few years of her life was just that memory. She still wore the powder, and knew I would come sit on her bed to be transported back to my childhood happiness. For those few moments, nothing on earth was wrong, she was healthy, we both were content, and we were as young as the day.

It probably won't surprise you to know I have a box of the powder. I don't wear it often; in fact, I usually only wear a bit of eye shadow and some lipstick. But if I need for some reason to pat on a bit of it, it's handy.

And when I need to be reminded of safe, and loving, and those other good things, my box of powder is good for that, as well.

Text © copyright 2000-2003 Becky