Becky Says...

August 2003

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






August 28

Random bits from the workday.

Zoe the office dog tried very hard to get me to change my mind about whether or not she had had enough of my lunch today. She had no luck in this endeavor. Zoe is nothing if not persistent. I, however, am not only persistent, I'm taller and I have opposable thumbs.

Bits of silliness (other than Zoe trying to bamboozle me into more food) included the whole of the support staff. Ms. Nameless has a sense of humor that meshes with ours rather well. This is a characteristic recognized and much appreciated by both Wendy and me.

We sometimes comment at work that I have some really good connections in terms of getting information. A slightly odd one came to light late this afternoon. One of the attorneys was trying to find the phone number for a business in town. I commented that if the number had been assigned after the phone directory had been published, it was no problem, because I knew the owner's mother and could call her to get it.

August 27

Today is the second anniversary of my going back to work at the law firm. I had forgotten the exact date until I was looking for something else in my August 2001 archives and found the entry about that day. And now you know one of the real reasons I keep an online journal: from any computer with Internet access, I can pull up random facts of my life!

Patrick asked a question today, to the members of his notify list, about whether or not we had made big life changes. I wrote him a quick note and said I'd answer the question when I had time. I did just that, this evening.

I love being asked a thought-provoking question. And this one provoked a lot of thought. Much of what I told him is touched on in various and sundry journal entries here, and I won't try linking them. Let's just say that over the course of my life I've made a number of changes that were major (and in some cases high-stress) ones; some turned out really good, some didn't, and in some cases the outcome was neutral.

There are two assumptions you should feel free to make at this point. One, that my answer to Patrick was considerably longer than the above paragraph. Two, that going back to the law firm two years ago is a decision that has turned out to be a really good one.

But then I knew that would be the case.

Text © copyright 2000-2003 Becky