Becky Says...

August 2003

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






August 26

I've been thinking today about the people who are in my lap at the moment. The virtual lap, I mean. Right now, there are three of them. Hey---it's virtual; there's plenty of room.

One of those people is someone I haven't met, but he owns a part of my heart that has been his nearly four years now. We have this really odd, wonderful bond. Life is difficult for him at the moment, but he's coping. In terms of moral support, I'm sending many hugs. I'm also sending some giggles, because comic relief is good.

Another of the threesome is one of my chosen siblings. He's so used to being the big brother that he doesn't know how to let me be the big sister (with the other siblings, we tend to swap the "older" role depending on who needs what at the moment). But I'm not letting that stop me from holding onto him. For dear life.

The third is someone I've known a long, long time, who happens to be having an incredibly challenging week. We've shared moral support, sometimes even when we both need it at the same time. Those hugs work both ways, you know.

All three of these people, and several more besides, are real heroes in my life for one reason or another. Mainly, they have met or are meeting challenges that would topple lesser folk. And whether they've meant to or not, they've inspired me to do my own best.

It is my privilege to know them, and my honor to offer them lap room. The space is theirs to occupy as needed. And if others need space, too, well as I said, there's plenty of room.

Text © copyright 2000-2003 Becky