Becky Says...

August 2003

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






August 19

Things on my mind tonight:

---I'd like to go yell at the persons who have sent me four copies of a computer worm tonight. No harm done here, but time was wasted getting rid of the things.

---A side effect of all the rain we've had is an increase in the mold around the area. I don't go wandering without having taken antihistamines.

---Fun this afternoon was two little girls in the office, playing with office dog Zoe. Zoe really likes little kids---they're just her size. After they left, Zoe needed a long nap.

---Eugenia Zukerman has written a book, In My Mother�s Closet: An Invitation to Remember. Hearing her talk about it tonight on "Charlie Rose" brought back a whole lot of memories, more of dresser drawers than closets. I'll tell you about it sometime.

---I spent some time today talking with a friend about stress and anxiety and their interaction. Interesting stuff, and a subject about which I want to learn more.

---Yes, I am all over the place.

August 18

This afternoon I asked a friend for an update on a recuperating young relative of his, and was delighted to hear that said relative is doing beautifully. The exchange reminded me of something that happened when I was working at Non-Profit Agency #1. I don't think I've told this one before, but if I have, it's worth a repeat.

The director of a sister branch of the agency called one day, and in the course of conversation told me that his infant son was going to have heart surgery. It's been a few years ago, so I don't remember the specific reason the boy needed the operation. I wished the family well, and made a mental note to keep track of the situation through mutual friends.

Time passed, and word came to me that the little boy was doing well in his recuperation. Of course, I was pleased for the child, and for his family. I did hear that the child was small for his age, and that it would be considered a sign of good health for him to put on some weight.

Then one day the child's father called. As soon as I knew the identity of the caller, I asked him how the child was doing. The reply? "My son outgrew his clothes!" Followed by a sentence or so with a bit more information. But that was the important thing. And to the best of my knowledge, the now-adult son is doing just fine.

To this day, that response is the most joyful thing I have heard any parent say.

And that is why, whenever I ask about a recuperating child, I include a wish that the child is growing like a weed. It was my pleasure to hear that the one I asked after today is doing just that.

Text © copyright 2000-2003 Becky