Becky Says...

July 2003

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






July 23

Amusing me at the moment: there's an infomercial out for a cleaning product that has an announcer ask, "Are you concerned about dirt and germs?" Well, not enough to spend over $150.00 on your product, but thanks for asking!

Amusing me earlier in the day: finding a new display rack at the grocery store, filled with the sort of toys that were sold in such establishments when I was a little girl.

No, they're not retro toys, but are things like sets of bangle bracelets (which caught my eye) and other shiny trinkets aimed at little kids. I didn't examine the display too closely, but one of these days I'll take the time to do just that. You never can tell when you might just need a toy.

I say of myself fairly often that I'm easily amused. I think of this as being a good thing, if for no other reason than it allows me to take a lot of pleasure out of simple things. This goes hand in hand with what fascinates me so much about crocheting: that it starts out with what amounts to a piece of string and lets you end up with something useful or beautiful or a combination.

Taking the thought further, a lot of the same things that please me about crochet fascinate me about musical instruments. The maker starts out with what amounts to a piece of wood, metal, leather, or a string; modifies it somewhat (depending on the instrument); and winds up with a finished product used to make sounds---which can indeed be useful or beautiful, and sometimes both.

Obviously, in any endeavor the beauty is in the eye or ear of the beholder, but the potential is there even in those designed for utility (think foghorns and train whistles).

The simplest of things, in their origins. The joys they bring are complex, and priceless.

Text © copyright 2000-2003 Becky