Becky Says...

July 2003

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






July 22

Unless I've planned to eat very late, I really don't like having supper at 12:30 a.m. But tonight it can't be helped.

We had quite a thunderstorm series go through late in the day. I was still at work when the sound-and-light-show got started, and stayed there after I might otherwise have left. I wasn't alone; Wendy and office dog Zoe were also there, as was Associate Two (for the first round of the series; she was through with her work before the second round got going).

Zoe is not a happy girl during storms. If it's known ahead of time that a storm is coming, Zoe gets a tranquilizer. Today, we didn't know far enough in advance of the storm for the drug to kick in---and we did not think there would be a second round. So it was up to the three humans around to calm the girl as best we could. At one point, all three of us were down on the floor of Associate Two's office, surrounding Zoe and making her feel surrounded by safety.

At a later point, I was in Wendy's office and realized that Zoe had decided to get between the arm of my chair and the wall. My arm was around Zoe, and it worked out that my jacket was draping itself over her, too. And I noticed that something was making Zoe much calmer. Wendy said that Zoe's getting herself into a small, dark place was a way of hiding from the Bad Thing (the sounds of the storm). I decided if it made the girl stop trembling, I was more than happy for my jacket to be turned into a shelter.

Eventually things calmed down enough that we got out of the office and headed to our respective homes. I wondered what might be going on when I saw that the stoplight at the intersection nearest my apartment was not working, nor were any of the streetlights. So I wasn't terribly surprised to get to the complex and find no power.

I also wasn't pleased to find this, mainly because I was already hungry and there was not much here that didn't need some sort of cooking before it was edible. Yes, I know a lot of things can be eaten cold. But not if they aren't in some form where that's possible. In other words, I had lots of ingredients and no food, to paraphrase a friend's child on the subject.

I got inside and found flashlights, grabbed a cookie, called the power company's outage report line, and took a nap. The nap was part of the original plan for the evening, but it was to have come after supper. I woke up when the air conditioner started making me chilly.

Oh well. At least the power came back on when the company had predicted it would. Excuse me now; I'm going back to the kitchen for seconds. Or breakfast...

Text © copyright 2000-2003 Becky