Becky Says...

July 2003

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






July 1

It's always nice when someone you like gets his name in the newspaper for something pleasant. I had such an experience this morning, when I found this article about my friend Bradley and a Barbie® find he made at a local thrift shop.

For the record, my first Barbie is a Number 4. I know this because Bradley told me after he saw her (he's very knowledgeable on the subject). I was one of those little girls who didn't get traumatized that my figure didn't look a whole lot like Barbie's. I did a lot of sewing for the dolls, in learning to sew. And I did some knitting and crocheting for them, as well.

I'm always interested to see what Bradley has found. Umm, yes, sometimes we sit in the floor like the two little kids we are and change the dolls' clothes. The real difference is that we're both much better at picking up and putting away the spare clothes than we were as younger little kids. (We know, after all, that those older garments are valuable, too.) So now you know I still like to play Barbies.

Then there was the time a few years back when he lent me a reference book on the subject of Barbies. Once I got started reading through it, I didn't surface for several days. I loved seeing the clothes that had been made for the dolls over the years, and the dolls themselves. By the way, I prefer the earlier dolls to the modern ones, but some of the modern clothes are fabulous.

Over the years we've known each other, Bradley has helped me sell some of my doll things, but he told me not to try selling that Number 4 doll, at least not yet, because she's not in mint condition and isn't worth so very much money, and because she's been part of my life for so long that I'd probably regret it the rest of my days. Since he knows so much about the market, and about little girls and their favorite Barbies, I've done as I was told.

I was with a group of people one evening, discussing things Barbie. Someone asked what we considered our best Barbie find. My answer was simple: Bradley. I hope if you still love a favorite childhood toy, you have a Bradley to go along with it.

Text © copyright 2000-2003 Becky