Becky Says...

June 2003

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






June 29

I've been thinking a lot today about other personal websites, mainly journals. Someone asked a question on a message board about reviewing other journals. The thread was more about negative comments than positive ones. I pondered it a while, then said that to me that making negative comments about a site seemed pointless. Had I not been being careful in my word choice, I might have even said it was arrogant.

When I've found a new-to-me journal, and want to add it to my links page, I usually wind up saying something nice about it in an entry, and probably suggest my readers go check it out. So am I reviewing it? I don't think so. I don't usually go into reasons why I like a specific journal, but you've probably guessed that for me it's more about the writing than anything else.

What I am saying at those times is that I like the journal. It is presumed that if you are reading what I've written, and keep coming back for more, you want to know some of what I have on my mind. If it's that I like a site, I'm probably going to say so.

You can also be sure I've had some sort of contact with the writer. I don't link to personal sites without that. But that's my rule for how I do it; some people I've had no contact with have linked to me, and that's fine.

Those who do reviews are as likely to bring up what they dislike as what they like, with specific points made about the writing style or the design. And I don't really see the need to tell you (or the writer) if I've come across a journal I don't like. I can just refrain from reading more of it.

It really is that easy.

Text © copyright 2000-2003 Becky