Becky Says...

June 2003

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






June 23

The best news of today for me was finding out that this website page for the Ten by Ten Festival got updated. I knew that Patrick's play was one of the ten, and that TeKay was directing. But it's nice to see it set in pixel.

Other parts of the day were not so much fun. On my way to work I got stuck in a horrendous traffic jam, because those doing the work on the major intersection I need to get through hadn't planned traffic control well. There was line-painting being attempted...with traffic swirling around and people using incorrect lanes of their own choosing. It's a real wonder no one got hurt.

Then there was the unpleasantness at the office. No, no one was in a bad mood. But someone didn't know or forgot something important: good dog-manners do not preclude belching and farting. Someone had reheated a garlic-laden lunch in the office microwave, and had shared with Zoe. We had an office full of lawyers and clients, and one very smelly dog. Someone owes us a can of air freshener.

Traffic hell again on the way home---this time, people were not paying attention to the barricades, and were cutting in and out of lanes. Let's just say I was glad to get home. Very glad.

And I've already decided to go the back way tomorrow.

June 22

The spammers have gotten a bit more aggressive in the last week or so. They're still way off the mark. I still don't need a penis enlargement, or a mortgage (on my rented apartment), or to have someone investigated. Oh, and today it was apparently decided by the spammers-that-be that I wanted a list of the hottest women in the neighborhood. Umm, no thanks.

I now have so many filters set up that the first time I check e-mail after I get home from work, I get to wait for the filters to do their thing. How do I know this? A message comes up to tell me the program is filtering the mail, so I won't get alarmed and think the thing is broken since it takes a while.

I do look at the filtered-out senders/subject lines before deleting. I have noticed that a lot of spams coming with nonsense words as their subjects, in an attempt to trick filters. Another trick I'm seeing fairly often us that a lot of spammers are using "Re:" whatever, in an attempt, obviously, to make the recipient think the message is a reply.

What got me thinking about all this is that I got what I thought was spam tonight---the subject line was, "Re: Sunday night," and the sender's e-mail address was one I didn't recognize. I opened it because I thought I'd need to add its information to the filter list.

I'm pleased to say that instead of spam it turned out to be a note from a journal buddy using her personal e-mail address instead of her journal one. I had written a brief note to her earlier tonight, with the subject, "Sunday night," to which she was replying.

And an e-mail related comment: I hope the person who sent me a trojan virus in an attempt to steal passwords has a computer that comes down with a fungal infection. Yes, thanks, I know that's vindictive of me. No, the trojan didn't get anything from me, but having to run an extra virus scan this morning was not part of my plan for the day.

Have I mentioned that I get ugly when I get annoyed?

Text © copyright 2000-2003 Becky