Becky Says...

June 2003

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






June 12

Apparently we won't be having a drought this summer, or if we do no one will notice. We have had a lot of rain of late. Today's was accompanied by much loud, rumbly thunder, which does not suit office-dog Zoe.

The main thing is that Zoe wants to be with the biggest, strongest person she can find during a storm. Today, for the first of the storm, that happened to be me (we were holding the fort while others were out of the office). She pretty much glued herself to me, and went where I went.

As it happened, I knew the mail had arrived and wanted to get to the mailbox to get it before the rain started. I knew Zoe couldn't deal with being abandoned at the moment, so the right answer was to take Zoe with me. This was a first for both of us: it's the first time she's helped get the mail, and the first time I've been the one who decided we were going outside.

We didn't linger too long---all that noisy thunder is even louder when you're outside, you know---and there was no argument when I suggested we'd go back in the office.

Zoe's daddy (who is also known as Senior Partner) came back a few minutes later and took over his rightful role as biggest, strongest person. He had a meeting, but said that Zoe was welcome to come to it. This suited all concerned, including Zoe's new human friend with whom Senior Partner had the meeting, by the way.

True to form, after all the noise died down, Zoe calmed down and went to sleep. She was still in the conference room, and there she stayed for most of the rest of the day.

I waited to nap till I got home.

Text © copyright 2000-2003 Becky