Becky Says...

May 2003

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






May 24

It's been a while since I did an instructional entry. I did one about e-mail a while back, and this one is in a similar vein. It has to do with photographs, and how to prevent being a nuisance with them, from someone whose tolerance for being annoyed is at an all-time low.

Never, never, ever send someone a six megabyte picture unless you have been specifically requested to do so. Particularly never do this to a stranger who may not really be interested in your hobby. Someone did that to me this week. He heard about it the next morning. For the record, it was a picture of the flowers on a tree.

Yes, I know how to delete things. I just don't like being forced to waste my time.

And while I'm at it, never, ever send me something with the remark that it must be viewed in full-screen mode. I don't take orders.

Here's a hint to those of you with digital cameras and/or scanners: learn how to resize pictures. Smaller is good, especially when talking about pictures you plan to attach to e-mail or put on a web page.

If you haven't learned about resizing yet, and must stick with large pictures, please put those on a web page. If you want to share them with your friends, you can send a link. A warning that the picture is enormous will also be appreciated.

Yes, I do know not everyone has a website. I also know that places for showing off photos (usually for free) are in abundance, and can be found by searching.

One other thing I know: if you do as I've suggested, your friends will be much more likely to look forward to seeing your pictures.

Text © copyright 2000-2003 Becky