Becky Says...

May 2003

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






May 7

TC, the no-longer-new admin type at work, is learning that there are days when things go completely crazy in the office. She had one of those days today, to such an extent that I had to insist at one point that she go get lunch. I knew she would get all kinds of flakey if she didn't, and I'd much rather cover the phones and other craziness while she went in search of food than deal with her flaking late in the day. Yes, I'm selfish. But she did as told, and we were all the better for it.

There are just days when everyone in town for some reason wants to call the law firm. And today was one of them. There are also days when nearly everyone in town comes by the office for some reason. This was one of those, too. It's days like this when I'm glad I no longer have the desk in the lobby.

The interruptions I did have from the craziness were sufficient that I only got one thing completed today, but it was a large project and I feel pretty good about it. By the end of the day, I was more than happy to agree and help plan the Between day that Wendy thought would help matters.

That's Betty Bear, wearing my butterfly-with-bell pendant, slightly askew, and Nunzilla.  They guard the desk.

This is a close-up of my desk. It will wind up being part of a tour of my office, but for the moment, imagine the desk covered in paper. Yes, including the keyboard. That was how it was for much of the day. If it was a flat surface, it had paper on it. If It wasn't a flat surface, it was propping up papers or serving as a paperweight. (Or being a computer monitor, which was showing virtual paper.)

Those are Betty Bear and Nunzilla guarding the coffee mug for me. An indulgent friend sent Nunzilla to live with me; she arrived, fittingly, at Easter.

Text and image � copyright 2000-2003 Becky