Becky Says...

April 2003

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






April 17

Please go see what Wendy wrote about a really fun part of the day. I thoroughly enjoyed being in on the joke. Younger Partner is a really good soul, and it's been fun since I've been back at the law firm to see his sense of humor emerging from some life-induced shadows.

Actually, what's really on my mind tonight is something both quite serious and quite lovely. This is another of those seasons of the year often gifted with a sacred moment, and I had one today. I was able to let go of some heavy-duty anger that had been building for quite a while.

I am not going to tell the complete story, because my goal is not to embarrass the other person in it. But I found out that what I thought was very poor behavior by someone had two compelling reasons to exist; one being a lack of knowledge of the correct behavior (how's that for vague?) and the other being some personal problems. Those two facts made a lot of things clear to me, and let me respond to the person's behavior with some information and concern, instead of the anger.

Forgiveness comes in there, too, of course, although the word wasn't used. Sometimes I think forgiveness is best when it just happens.

And if that sounds entirely too bleeding heart for you, well, you'd have to know how angry I was and how relieved I am to have the need for the anger gone. Yes, the behavior that was making me angry was still incorrect, but it was done because the person truly couldn't do better at the time. And I'm all about giving people second and fiftieth chances, and about encouraging good behavior.

I feel that an enormous weight was lifted from my soul. And that is a very good thing to feel.

Text © copyright 2000-2003 Becky