Becky Says...

April 2003

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






April 7

I watched the last few minutes of the NCAA basketball final tonight, and was extremely impressed with Kansas Coach Roy Williams' answer to a reporter who asked him if he would take the Carolina job if it were offered to him.

He told her that he knew she, as a journalist, had to ask, but went on to say that he didn't care about Carolina at that moment and he was going to go be with his players in the locker room. (That's a paraphrase.) He then turned and walked away.

I like the man's answer. I also like that three years ago he said no to Carolina, because he thought he owed it to Kansas to stay there. There's just something about integrity.

Okay, enough basketball. I had fun deflating an attorney today. He was calling to speak with one of ours who had already left the office. The caller wanted to get all puffed up over how our attorney had not returned his earlier call, and there was a need for them to speak, and blah, blah, blah.

After about the second blah, I interrupted him. I had a two-part question for the caller, which I asked. It was, "Who are you and what's this about?"

And once I got the answer to the question, along with an appropriate apology, I found out which other attorney in our firm was working with the matter that Mr. Puffy wanted to discuss, and transferred the call.

If Mr. Puffy had not been so overblown, the transfer could have happened several minutes earlier. Apparently he was still filled with a great deal of March wind. And as we know, that's so last month.

Text © copyright 2000-2003 Becky