Becky Says...

March 2003

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






March 31

Some good news. My cousin who was injured in an accident in November and recently underwent surgery to install a shunt to relieve hydrocephaly is doing remarkably well. She is in a rehabilitation facility at the moment, and is scheduled to come home on April 9. Needless to say, all the family is relieved and pleased.

I had to turn down another crochet request this morning. Please note that "this morning" means Monday, March 31. The request I had to turn down was for a wall hanging, to be done in filet crochet and feature the names of a bride and groom and their wedding date. It was to be ready for the wedding date. Which is April 26. Yes, I mean less than a month.

For those of you not quite sure what I'm talking about, the picture below is of a pillow with a motif sewn onto it. The motif is done in filet crochet, and was made a few years ago as a housewarming gift for a friend.

H

Doing these designs starts with graph paper and a pencil. Plenty of patience helps, and your pencil needs a good eraser. Once the design is done, the crocheting of all those blocks and their surrounding spaces takes a while. The last pillow I made took three weeks. Pillows only have the one letter on them. Adding more letters would, of course, take more time.

Consider this your friendly warning that no matter what else may be true, it's not possible to make something that complicated in less than a month. Don't get me wrong: I love to do filet work. It's fascinating to see the patterns emerge. But it does take some serious time.

And I do believe the majority of this entry will find itself featured on the Rebeccaworks site in the very near future.

Text © copyright 2000-2003 Becky