Becky Says...

March 2003

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






March 23

I am not paying close attention to war coverage, in part because I have pretty much overdosed on it already. I think the whole thing is overkill, and yes, you're welcome to take that both ways. So I'm not going to comment on specific things about the war right now. Instead, I'm going to suggest you go read Bev's entry.

I will comment on this: one thing that truly bothers me is the timing of broadcasting of information about casualties. It's something that has gone on for a very long time, but I think it could be handled better.

Many people have a loved one in harm's way, either in Afghanistan or Iraq. Many don't know exactly where the loved one is stationed. So when reports of death come through the various news outlets, these people waiting go through hell, wondering if it is their child, spouse, parent, whatever-the-relationship whose name is being withheld. And that sucks.

There is something I hope our broadcasters let me in on, at some point. I wanna know how Saddam has so many look-alikes. I could really use that information. I'd like to have several more Beckys. I'd have one be in charge of housework, and another in charge of running errands for me, and another going to work in my place on days when I want to stay home and watch soap operas or basketball tournaments.

The possibilities boggle my mind.

* * * * * * * * * * *

I've spent way too much time today playing with The Usual Suspects at the board's new home. For those of you not all that familiar with the site, "Belinda" is the new server's name.

Text © copyright 2000-2003 Becky