Becky Says...

March 2003

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






March 22

Saturday in Beckyland began with something unwelcome in e-mail---two copies of the Melissa virus, attached to two files on one message.

Fortunately, my antivirus software stopped them and no harm was done. After advising my correspondent that either she had a computer virus or the person who had sent her the files had one, I did a few other computer-related things, then went out to run errands.

The rest of the day wasn't filled with so much excitement. Just a lot of lovely sunshine. I took advantage of the warmth.

March 21

Apparently wartime brings on thoughts of nylon, at least among those who are spending time doing websearches. I have had a huge number of hits this week from people whose searches had to do with pantyhose. I'm not sure what the searchers think when they get to the entry they reach, since it's just about the garment.

Late this afternoon at the office the four of us who were still there had our weekly sillyfest. It started out, as best I can tell, as a serious comment about purchasing household products. It veered off course rapidly, and by the time it was over we were all wiping tears of laughter from our eyes. It was a much-needed and thoroughly-enjoyed end to a busy week.

And as my extra-special treat for the end of the week, I got to find out that the potential client who annoyed me so much on Tuesday called this morning and made such an ass of herself that the attorney with whom she was speaking suggested that she seek counsel elsewhere.

There's a Zoe (the office Golden Retriever) story to share, but I think I'll hold it for its own entry. Suffice it to say the girl let me know she was aware that part of her job was to take care of me, and she did that job well.

March 20

I'm the one often off on the edge of things. Edge as in hem, not edge as in cliff, so you don't worry.

An example. There was a really popular restaurant in Chapel Hill that closed a while back, and I may be the only person who didn't mourn its loss. The two times I ate there the food was nothing special, and the service sucked, especially in terms of attitude. After its second chance to impress me favorably, I decided I had other places to spend my dining dollars, so I never went back.

Another thing I don't really care for is National Public Radio. I don't know why that is. They certainly never served me a bad meal. But I'm not a big listener to its member stations. I know most of my local friends do listen, particularly at certain times of certain days. I've just learned to refrain from interrupting their favorite shows.

I just chalk all my not-being-part-of-the-group (whatever the group may be) to being part of who I am. With rare exceptions, it's been the case all my life. There are times it bothers me; times when I do wish I fit in a little better.

But most of the time, I just sit quietly through those moments of being bothered, and listen to hear what my different-drummer of a soul tells me next.

It works for me.

Text © copyright 2000-2003 Becky